≡ Menu

Testimonials

I got married in a private ceremony at my home that was a secret to family and friends, so I did not have any photographs of my special day.   My honeymoon (just a vacation to family and friends) was scheduled for a month away.  At that time my husband and I took our wedding attire with us and contracted Photos in Cancun for a Beach Photoshoot Session.  What we got was SO much more.  I thought at that price that it would be a quick sessions with probably 50 photos at most to pick from.  Boy was I suprised.  Derek and Lorena gave us the same attention that an entire expensive wedding shoot would have gotten. The type of shoot I had seen listed with other photographers for a thousand dollars or more. We walked away with over 600 photos not just of my husband and I on the beach as we thought we would get, but us all around the hotel in the gardens and near fountains.  They not only took photos of my husband and I, but also several family photos with my children, and even a couples shoot of my son and his girlfriend, Lorena did my hair and makeup for the day.  When I first inquired as to her doing my hair and makeup she sent me several options that she thought would work for me and together we made the choices.  We had two hair options so that if it was a very windy day (as often this time of year on the ocean it is) we would be prepared with something that would not blow around and keep getting in my face.  She did beautiful work and is very talented.  Lorena is not only beautiful on the outside, but she has a beautiful soul and a kind heart. Not only did they do such great work, but they are wonderful caring individuals that I feel lucky to have even had the opportunity to meet.  We enjoyed their company so much that we invited them to have dinner with us afterward, and they did.  My 17 year old daughter loves photography and Derek was very kind to her allowing her to borrow some of his specialty lenses to take pictures along with him using her own camera and answer any questions she had. If you are working on a budget, these are the people to go with.  You will be in the right price range, but from the quality of the work, nobody will ever know it.  You will get the attention of and the quality work of one of the hightest priced photographers in the area, and only you will know what a bargain price you got it for.   The work was so good that I could not even pick 25 to have photo shopped and edited.  Each time I looked at the photographs I thought “what more could they do to this photo to make it any better?”  Derek offered to do some special effects editing like maybe turning a photo black and white, but coloring the roses in the photos or just the water in a beach photo.  They are so accomodating to your every need. I hope this helps you in your decision for a photographer, and good luck on your special day.  Karmen

First, we are Chinese couple. I came to the US for 6 years, but couldn’t speak English as fluent as Chinese. And my wife does not speak much English at all. However, Derek, and his cute assistant, make super good communication with us, very patiently. That’s what I valued the most. He is a wonderful photographer with no doubt. However, if you booked Derek, you will get more than that. Since as customers, the value of the service is not just the service, but also how it is delivered.
Second,  the photos are fantastic. They are not only good show-cases in our wedding, but also great memory for life. You really do not need to worry about the quality of Derek’s pictures. He is professional in every way.
Third, his assistant is also a very nice girl. Thoughtful indeed, and detail oriented.
Forth, Derek also provides editing service after the shooting, which is really nice, All in all,  Derek is the photographer you want to get in Cancun.

My husband & I met Derek & Lorena in Cancun for a TDD shoot the day after our wedding. And we must say they were one of the highlights of our special event. They immediately make you feel comfortable, are flexible & patient. I could tell you they are a great value in terms of money, a great choice if you want prompt communication, immediate results & are generous with their time. But all those things have a tangible price. What is intangible is how much FUN they are as a team! They have awesome energy, are creative & very personable. If you’re lucky enough to book Photos in Cancun – we’re sure you’ll be satisfied with your selection, Best of luck on your wedding planning.

Here’s a breakdown of all the reasons I loved Derek and Lorena at Photos in Cancun!
1. Communication: The first thing I liked about Derek is that he speaks English!  I don’t speak Spanish, so I was apprehensive about hiring a photographer that wouldn’t be able to communicate with me, so that was a real selling point.  Plus he speaks Spanish, so he was able to talk to the hotel staff as well.  Also, his response time to my emails was outstanding–within an hour of my initial email request for information, I had an amazing response with ideas and pricing…he even gave suggestions on what to wear and how to get the best shot.  I was impressed from the beginning.
2.  Value of the Product:First of all, I had inquired about prices just a day before Derek changed them–so he honored the price I inquired about (he’s an honest, stand up guy!).  You can tell by his website that he creates beautiful photos, and I love so many of mine!  We did an engagement shot, so Derek just let us do our thing without posing us–he would say things like “your pocket’s sticking out!” or “she’s got a curl that’s all kinked up”…other than that, he just put us in front of a beautiful backdrop and snapped away.  He never once looked at his watch to remind us of our time limit, and within 20 minutes of it being over he gave us the DVD with ALL of our images.  Now I just have to pick my favorites and he’ll do some creative editing to them.  It’s unbelievable value!
3.  Attitude: Derek and Lorena were high energy and experimental and creative the whole time.  We just walked around our resort and stopped wherever they thought would be ideal–we even had to do some climbing!  Our hotel staff was not particularly cooperative, but Derek handled it amazingly and put me at ease.  He took some really bizare shots that turned out fantastic.  Plus, he was up at the crack of dawn to capture the sunrise–at no extra charge! Overall, I highly recommend Derek to anyone in the Mayan Riviera needing beautiful photography.  You’ll get amazing value for your money, you’ll love the product, and he’s just a great guy to work with.  I am a VERY satisfied customer!

Our wedding was in November 2010 at the Leblanc Resort & Spa in Cancun. We had Derek’s reference by a friend in Montreal. Wow! What a professional! In most of the wedding package you have the photographer included in the price but I didn’t want to have the typical pictures of the bride and the groom so I contacted Derek. I told him that my husband and I weren’t so comfortable in front of the camera so I wanted to have some quick shots but some nice and modern pictures of everything. In these moments that pass so fast you can’t see everything and you want to remember at all. Derek helped me with everything, including giving me his advice for the hour of the ceremony and the sunset, have the best shots of my husband and I that really represent us, have pictures of all my guests, all the little details that took me 6 months to prepare, take shots of friends that were doing some crazy things during the party and giving me some good ideas to use the flowers of the ceremony :). That day we didn’t only meet a photographer, we met a friend. I really had a fantastic day with some gorgeous pictures to share. I would recommend him to everyone and for sure I’ll find some events to go back in Cancun for his services!

I found Derek through doing a google search online. I was looking to do a Trash the Dress photo shoot while celebrating my anniversary in Cancun. He was great and took time to answer all my questions through email all the way up to the day I left for our trip. I was very excited to get some unique pictures in my wedding dress. The experience ended up being better then I could have imagined even my husband ended up getting into the fun of getting our pictures taken. Our pictures came out beyond beautiful and unique. We have gotten so many compliments. I would recommend Derek to anyone that is looking to get some beautiful pictures while having some fun doing it

My husband and I booked Derek for our destination wedding as well as Trash the Dress shoot last year in the Mayan Riviera. He was on time, professional, affordable and made us feel like the only customers he had! He showed up to the venue early, stayed until the very end, included all of our family and guests and never made us feel uncomfortable or rushed. He captured our day in the most romantic, artistic, unique way…better than we could have imagined! Before we even left to fly home, he gave us the disk with all of our shots on it and he had no problem allowing us to print them on our own. I would recommed him to anyone!

We were at the NOW Jade Cancun at my brothers wedding. I found Derek online during a Google search. My boys were ring bearers, I was maid of honor, and my husband was best man.  Since all of our outfits matched I thought that it would be nice to get family pictures after the wedding pictures were taken. Derek was humorous and very involved with the family.  He learned names quickly.  Derek gave good simple direction during the shoot, but also was open to suggestions. We are VERY pleased with the pictures.  He had another photographer (Lorena ?) there as well which was helpful. We would definately recommend!!!!!!!

We LOVED your style, charisma, and quality (of your work). I’m so glad you got to share our day, you enhanced it for sure!

Derek, I just wanted to thank you again for professionalism, class, talent, flexibility, enthusiasm, and the great photos you took. I still can’t believe you had an open date and gave us an unbelievable deal. To say we got lucky is an understatement. I always wondered how it would feel like to have a photographer take shots of me and make me feel special. I now know what that feeling is. I felt like I could have spent the entire day with you and Lorena taking photos. Katie is happy and that makes me happy. Thanks for capturing so many unique and outstanding moments of our wedding. You are amazing and we are grateful.

I just wanted to say thank you!! You did a wonderful job and Jared and I had a blast!! I will definitely recommend you to anyone who is thinking of coming to this area!!

We are so happy with all the pictures. I am having such a hard time picking my favorites, there are so many of them.

The photos are AMAZING (like you would do anything less than that);
Every time I look at our pictures I smile – you are truly an amazing artist and I thank you!!!!

Oh how I love thee….This page is amazing!! It has captured what was the most fabulous year of my life, in the most perfect way. We are truly grateful for what you have done for us and certainly look forward to the next shoots to come. All the best to you and Lorena. Love- Karen and Nick

42 comments… add one
  • Alicia Krisher-Behm December 9, 2010, 5:59 pm

    I found Derek in a google search while searching for Cancun photographty for Derek! It was so fun to be photographed by you! Your humor and involvement in the family was wonderful!

  • Alicia Krisher-Behm December 10, 2010, 9:04 am

    Well, thanks baby Mason for sending the prior message before I was ready… LOL!
    I found Derek in a google search. We were searching for my brothers weddign which was in Cancun. Derek and Lorena were wonderful, humorous, and patient with the kids. Love the pics….there were soooooo many that I haven’t looked thru them all yet. Highly recommended! Thanks again Derek! 🙂

  • Sara December 15, 2010, 2:15 pm

    Derek is one of the best photographers I have ever worked with. He recently did a family shoot with my family and me in Cancun and I can’t tell you how fun he was to work with and patient. He truly has a passion for his craft and is very professional. He wants to know your ideas and he also has great ideas of his own. The quality of his pictures are exceptional and the turnaround time for getting them were that same day!

    I highly recommend him to anyone looking to take photos in Cancun and who may want photos to cherish for the rest of their lives.

    Sara, 12/15/2010
    U.S.A.

  • Leslie McDonnell January 1, 2011, 2:17 am

    What an amazing job Derek and Lorena did for us! The quality of the pictures are amazing. They are wonderful to work with and after finding them on the internet, our family was thrilled at how lucky we were to have found the perfect photographer for our family vacation photos. We have so many great pictures, we honestly are having a difficult time deciding which ones to print! Not only are they fabulous, but easy and fun to work with. Thank you to you both for a great time and helping us hold on to some fabuluos memories for years to come!

    The McDonnell Family
    Lincolnshire Illinois 01/01/2011

  • Nina Tailor Daya January 9, 2011, 12:41 pm

    Before our wedding in the Mayan Riviera, my Husband (who is an avid photographer himself) was searching for months for a photographer to capture our three days worth of wedding memories. He hesitantly contacted a few photographers who could do the job, but were outrageously priced and did not give complete access to all of the raw images. No one that he contacted was warm and accommodating, and their packages were restricted to one day coverage. Anesh continued his internet search with frustration, and came across Derek Campbell on Google. He immediately contacted Derek, and as luck would have it, Derek is a Torontonian, and was here at the time, and offered to meet us at our home! Derek was a God-send! We explained our Hindu pre-wedding requirements, Hindu ceremony, and Mayan ceremony needs, and Derek was more that happy to accommodate his package. He even introduced us to his partner Lorena Jaimes, who, I also booked as my hair and make-up artist. From helping the boys plan their bachelor party in Playa De Carman, while Lorena stayed with the ladies at Henna night, to staying closer to our resort to be there for our early morning Hindu ceremonies, Derek and Lorena were awesome; they made our wedding experience unforgettable. Not only are they GREAT at what they do, they are incredible people, willing to help in any way they can. Both of them embraced our Hindu traditions by wearing the indian clothing for each ceremony, and Lorena even put on Henna! They got along famously with our family and guests, almost like we had all known them for years. I’m teary eyed just writing on this blog, because I truly feel like no two people, who were pretty much strangers to us, could have been more accommodating to make our wedding pictures so beautiful, and make the whole experience of working with them so much fun, and so unforgettable. I would recommend Derek and Lorena in a heartbeat.
    Love you both!
    Nina

  • Hector January 25, 2011, 2:49 pm

    This guy is awesome !!!!

    I purchased a wedding package from Now Jade in Cancun which comes with its own videographer. We hired Derek for photography also on our own. His pictures are amazing !
    He made us a sample video from the pictures and some video he took and it was better that the Videographer’s lame MAC iDVD… Just look at what he put together for us !!!!
    http://www.photosincancun.com/cancun-photographer-videographer-l-now-jade-cancun-mexico/

  • Shannon Van Alphen April 20, 2011, 6:30 pm

    Derek and Lorena are AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! We feel so lucky that we were able to have them capture our day, they did such an amazing job. I would highly recommend them to anyone!!

  • Melanie Weaver July 5, 2011, 8:08 pm

    AMAZING!!! Lorena & Fernando were simply fabulous! The time they spent with our son,daughter in law & our entire family was great. They helped make the wedding day experience @ the Gran Melia wonderful. We hope you will post some of your awesome work of that day here on your website. From our first inquiry to the delivery they provided high quality service much more than just photography. The bride & I(mother of the groom) had very high expectations as we are both picture fans and I must say they far exceeded our expectations. Our family was blessed beyond measure by the wonderful team @ Photos in Cancun. Blessings,THE WEAVER FAMILY

  • Claire South November 6, 2011, 1:10 am

    I got married on the 20th October 2011 at Excellence, Riviera Maya, Cancun. Derek & Lorena were just wonderful! I felt completely at ease and relaxed. The photos were MORE than expected. The quality and professionalism was just awesome! Derek also made a slideshow for me to show all my family as we didnt take any family with us. Please have a look at it on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/photosInCancun#p/a/u/0/xHv1M-P-pEA
    You can see for yourself how amazing the photos are!

    I am so glad I booked them! Very affordable and very professional! Would recommend to anyone! Cant priase them enough!
    Thanks guys!

  • Brent and Sarah Stevens November 12, 2011, 7:42 pm

    We got married at the Grand Sunset Princess in the Riviera Maya in March, 2011. Twenty of our closest family and friends were in attendance. We had Derek and Lorena shoot our wedding day and we trashed the dress the next day at a nearby beach and at a cenote.

    The wedding day shoot was great. Having two photographers capture the moment is absolutely priceless. We loved the originality of their shots, but also their flexibility and willingness to accommodate some of the goofy shots we thought would be funny.

    The following day – trash the dress, is where we really got to know Derek and Lorena. They picked us up at our resort and toured us around, getting the shots we wanted. We went to a nearby beach to take some pictures and Derek and Lorena were very creative. They took advantage of the beautiful scenery and backdrops, giving us photos that looked like they were taken in multiple locations. Derek and Lorena were kind enough to also take us to a cenote (which was not in the plan) to take some pictures. We found a beautiful location and it felt like we were on an adventure! Not only were we getting great pictures, it felt like we were on a tour! Words cannot explain how pleased we were with the photos, the service, and their personalities. We had so much fun! During the car ride home Brent looked me in the back seat of the car and said, “I feel like a kid in high school riding around with my friends!”

    Can’t wait to see you guys again! We will definitely be back to visit! We tell everyone how amazing you guys are and we recommend you to everyone!

    Thanks again for everything!
    Brent and Sarah Stevens

  • Kirsten Sokalski January 8, 2012, 6:18 pm

    We met Derek and Lorena when they shot our wedding at the Now Jade Riviera Resort in Puerto Moreles, Mexico. They were very helpful and professional and made us feel at ease. They did a shoot of our guests so that all the guests had professional photos that they could keep of themselves. That was a big hit and everyone really appreciated that.
    The wedding pictures turned out really well and we were very happy we chose them! We highly recommend Derek and Lorena. They are personable and help the wedding day go smoothly.
    Thanks you two for everything!
    Matt and Kirsten Sokalski,
    Vancouver, BC

  • Amanda Bradley January 10, 2012, 2:15 pm

    We got married in November 2012 at the Barcelo Maya Colonial, after seeing what the hotel would offer us for photography, we decided not to go with them and to seek out an external photographer. We then found Derek and Lorena, our photography angels! They were so quick to answer emails, and made us feel real great about going with them as our photographers.

    Once at the resort, they showed up on time and made everything so easy! They were very professional and listened to all of our requests. They stayed the entire evening, even though we didn’t ask them too. The photos they captured of our wedding day was exactly what we wanted, and we got the photos that night! It was AWESOME! I feel like they are our friends now and not just a really really good photographer.

  • Isabelle Rondeau May 16, 2012, 7:09 am

    Thank you so much again Ferek and Lorenan!!! Our wedding pictures are just perfect!!! It’s more than what we expected!! They know what they do, they are so professionnal and creative! We were very happy we chose them! We highly recommend Derek and Lorena. Thank you again for everything!!!
    Isabelle and Jeremy
    Montreal

  • Randi Magarinhos May 18, 2012, 8:36 pm

    Derek & Lorena,
    Thank you so much for amazing photos. We had a blast and you both were so professional and fun – we are definately going to get more pics from you guys when we are back in Mexico. Thank you for making our trip so memorable – we recommend you to everyone!

  • Michael Jennetta May 21, 2012, 2:16 pm

    It’s simple, do you want EVERY picture from your wedding to be incredible? Do you want to work with good, real people and feel comfortable in the process? Do you want the best value for your money? If you answered yes to any of these than you need to hire Derek & Lorena.

    Listen, I could easily go on and on about how they great they were and how happy my wife and I are about our pics, but here’s what I like more. You’re dealing with REAL people. Derek & Lorena are two of the most beautiful souls you could ever meet. Forget about the cheesy photographer who gives you “shop talk,” a forced smile, and the same poses he did for the last 50 couples he worked with, Derek and Lorena are like two friends on your guest list who just happen to be taking incredible pics.

    With all of the stress and anticipation leading up to our wedding day, Derek & Lorena managed to make this aspect go seamless and enjoyable. Truly cannot say enough about these two.

    Forget all of the other BS and if you’re looking for photographers, just book these two and cross another thing off of your list. Not only do my wife and I have amazing pictures, but we now also have life long friends.

    Derek & Lorena, thank you again for everything, we love you guys.

    Most Respectfully,

    Michael & Stephanie Jennetta

  • Jaclyn January 8, 2013, 7:36 pm

    We just got home from Fort Lauderdale, Florida, and couldn’t be happier with the photographs from our wedding and with the photographer himself. Derek was phenomenal; we flew him out specifically to photograph our wedding. He got along great with everybody and was able to get anyone to smile for the photo from babies, kids to the adults. Even people that were not at our wedding (other guests at the hotel we stayed at) approached us and said wow, I have never met a friendlier photographer, how did you find him? Lucky for me, he was my brothers wedding photographer in Mexico. He truly is the best, and the only way it could have possibly been better is if he was able to work with Lorena, as we hear the team is unstoppable, but even Derek by himself we would rate at 110 percent. He definitely has the eye for pictures and having never shot a wedding in Fort Lauderdale, he was still able to pick out the best spots for photos as we walked along the beach and explored the restaurant. He was also very accommodating if I was like “Hey Derek could you get one of us here, or of me with these people” he was on it right away. He went far above and beyond our expectations. We can’t tell you how much of a relief it is, to find a wedding photographer who actually cares about you and what you want instead of just snapping away. He fights to get the best angle of you during the ceremony and pushes the boundaries to get you great shot after great shot. He waits until the light is just right to capture astonishing sunset photos. If we’re ever in Mexico, expect a phone call from us as we cannot get enough of your photography skills!

  • VIshal and Parlin January 15, 2013, 9:24 pm

    Hi Lorena and Derek!

    Thank you sooo much for an amazing photoshoot of our twin girls’ cake smash! You guys were so nice and we never felt rushed at all throughout the entire session. It is a bit nervous booking a professional photographer in a foreign country without knowing them personally…but you guys helped ease all of our concerns the minute we met you both! Derek, thanks for making our girls laugh and smile! Lorena, thanks for coming up with such creative poses for our family. We truly loved the pictures and the moments you guys captured thru your camera.

    For anyone reading this post…trust me in that these guys are truly talented professionals and they are the perfect choice to capture your families special moments!

    Thanks again guys!

    Vishal & Parlin (+ Layla and Nala)

  • Amanda Therien March 18, 2013, 12:20 pm

    Derek, Lorena & Fernando!

    We couldn’t have asked for three better people to capture the memories of our wedding! You made the process so easy for us. We didn’t have to worry about any details. You really took my ideas for photos and made them amazing! Everyone loved partying with you guys at the reception and especially loved Derek’s ‘Gangnam’ style dance! Our friends and family are still talking about our photos and I’m sure they will be for many years to come! We highy recommend ‘Photos in Cancun’ to everyone!

    It is clear to see that all three love and have a passion for capturing memories!!! Keep up the spectacular job!

    Hopefully we will meet up again in Mexico!!!

    Many thanks!! Amanda & Francis!!

  • Parnia & Robert June 7, 2013, 10:01 pm

    We really enjoyed working with Derek & Lorena. They were very professional and friendly and made the experience very easy. They were very responsive to all our questions before booking the session and explained every thing in detail. During the session, both were very creative. Their attention to detail and patience during the shoot turned out some great pictures with high quality.

    Thanks & best wishes,
    Parnia & Robert

  • Caroline Chirinos July 31, 2013, 6:19 pm

    Derek, Lorena & Team,

    John and I are so grateful for having your team document our wedding day at Now Jade! You guys are top notch professionals and we’re so happy to have had Photos in Cancun shoot our wedding photos and handle the videography. Every time that John and I look at the photos and wedding video, all the wonderful memories of our wedding day flood back and we’re so thankful to your team for capturing those moments. You guys were the best addition to our wedding day… our guests loved you, you made us feel super relaxed and covered every little detail. Hiring your team was the best decision that we made and above everything, the greatest thing that we came away with was an amazing pair of new friends — Derek and Lorena!

    Thanks again for all the memories and for the Cenote adventure before we left Cancun! The TTD session was an AMAZING experience and we love your creativity.

    To all prospective clients — HIRE Photos in Cancun! Hands down the best decision you’ll make for your wedding!

    Con Mucho Amor y Carino,

    Caroline & John

  • Anthony February 9, 2015, 2:11 pm

    We just returned from our family vacation in Cancun Mexico. Prior to our vacation we searched for a photographer in Cancun with the goal to capture some of our vacation memories. Derek Cambell’s name came up on the search along with others. After glancing through his privious work, we knew Derek is the person we want for our photography. Derek was very responsive to our inquries. We shared few ideas with Derek and he just worked his magic. We have a three years old son and it is not easy to take good pictures with him. Derek knew how to get our son’s attention and captured some amazing pictures. We hired Derek for 1.5 hours. From start to finish, Derek spent almost three hours with us taking about 400 pictures. He gave us in a thumb drive with all pictures right after our photo session. Derek also enhanced thirty best pictures for us which turned out amazing. It never appeared that we just met Derek. It felt as he is a family friend and a true artist who took his time to capture some amazing moments.

  • Joe & Mary Lou May 29, 2015, 1:38 pm

    We found Derek & Lorena via Google when looking for a photographer to take family photos while vacationing in Cancun. They had to come back to our resort THREE times because of rain, and were very willing to do so. They took over 400 pictures and we were very pleased. So we would highly recommend them!

  • Goli June 14, 2015, 7:22 pm

    We loved our photos session in Cancun with Lorena and Derek.
    They’ve done a really professional job.
    We found them by just googling photos in Cancun and the right name just appeared!
    We are so happy to had our photo session with you. Thank you,
    Goli&Iman

  • Nachi and elisheva gobioff August 25, 2015, 9:36 pm

    We came to cancun on our honeymoon, and wanted to take pictures. We found photos in cancun online and booked them. While emailing back and forth which was answered generally very quickly, lorrena was amazingly easy to deal with. When we finally got here and took the pictures lorenna and fernando were super nice and amazingly easy to deal with, giving us more than enough time for almost 400 pictures. O AND BY THE WAY THE PICTURES CAME OUT GORGEOUS!!!!

    Thank you,

    Nachi and Elisheva Gobioff

  • Erin and Mike August 26, 2015, 10:14 pm

    Mike and I hired Photos in Cancun as our photographer. I has some serious anxiety choosing a photographer i had never met, talked too and was not in the states!! I emailed them and within 24 hours I received a friendly response. I instantly knew these were my people!! They answered EVERY question I had, worked with me, and were ever so patient with a bride who was very nervous. They made me feel comfortable, and took amazing pictures with little to no direction from me other than…just make them look great and get some fun ones :). They exceeded my expectation. They were, hands down, the BEST choice! When my husband and I celebrate our 5 year…you know who I want there to take out photos!! I would not trust any other company! They even gave me a timeline for my big day!! 🙂

  • Mandi Tishman September 10, 2015, 12:41 pm

    We used Derek and Lorena for our engagement pictures in Cancun, Mexico! We decided to take pictures to use for our save the date. Although living in the states, they had fantastic communication with us via email and were very proffesional and offered fantastic suggestions on outfits and where to take pictures! My fiance and I were very happy with our pictures and will remember our trip to Cancun forever thanks to them! Highly recommended.

  • Julie Dupuis September 11, 2015, 10:55 am

    My wife and I opted to go with Derek and Lorena from Photos in Cancun. All the reviews we read were very favorable and the quality of their work is beautiful, a photo journalistic style mixed in with the necessary posed pictures was the blend we hoped to find. The fact that Derek is Canadian also had something to do with our choice and Lorena, being from Mexico was ideal to help us with any language barriers that arose. My wife did all of the “leg work”, so I was pretty much an observer to what unfolded. My first impression was that they are fun and easy to work with; this was a must for us. This couple understand the true meaning of service, and this is no small compliment since we both have over 20 years’ experience in sales. and can with confidence that they went above and beyond for us. In the end, we got over 3000 pictures just a few days after the shoot, so no need to wait for weeks or months, we had it all on USB sticks and we could the select what images we wanted to have edited. We can honestly say that it was a joy to work with them and would recommend them to anyone wanting professional photography done at their wedding.

  • Natalie September 21, 2015, 2:45 pm

    Thanks for making capturing our anniversary memories. You did an amazing job! Everyone loved our photos.

  • Vince Luong December 14, 2015, 9:23 am

    For whom it may concern,
    My wife and I google Derek and Lorena from Photos in Cancun. We read the reviews and they were very favorable. However, we still have doubt because it a business in foreign land. After several exchange with Lorena, we believed that this is not a SCRAM. The fact that Derek is Canadian and Lorena is fluent in Spanish and very effective in her plan. Our first impression was that they are very friendly and personable. They understand the true mean of PHOTOGRAPHY and EXCELLENT SERVICE. In fact they went above and beyond what we bargain for. In the end, we got over 3000 pictures INSTANTLY via USB sticks. Then the EDIT came late according to plan! Lorena and Derek very effective and professional. I strongly recommend to anyone who is looking for a PHOTOGRAPHY IN CACUNE and want PROFESSIONAL PICTURES.

    Best,
    Dr. Luong DDS, MS, MA.

  • Adriana E December 17, 2015, 1:16 pm

    Derek and Lorena did such a wonderful job for my destination wedding June 2015!!! My photos were beautiful and even better than I could’ve ever imagined. They are true professionals! They were great to work with through the whole process. From completing our contract to receiving our edits. They helped coordinate wedding day as well. They kept us moving and had great ideas for pictures.

    If that wasn’t enough, they even created a slideshow with some of our pictures and music for us to play at our reception back home. I couldn’t say enough good things about them! Feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I found them by pure accident on a destination wedding forum, but I don’t think we could’ve had better photographers. When I looked at my edits for the first time, they brought tears to my eyes because I was so happy. Years down the road, I will have so many amazing pictures and memories to relive the day I married my best friend.

    Choose them and you will not be disappointed.
    Keep up the great work and hope to have you shoot some anniversary pictures for us one day Derek and Lorena!
    – Adriana and Travis

  • Maylon DenOuden January 29, 2016, 10:51 am

    We got married and wanted to set up a session for trash the dress type of pictures taken for when we were going on our honeymoon. Lorena got back to me immediately when I acquired about prices and availability. She answered any questions I came up with and made me feel I could trust her. When we arrived in Riviera Maya we were under the impression our resort would give us a ride to Cancun to meet up with them, but that was not the case. Thankfully, they were able and willing to come pick us up and take us to Cancun where they took our pictures. They were friendly and made us feel comfortable. Their service is great and I loved that on the ride back Lorena was able to immediately give us our pictures on a flash drive. They edited some and got those to us which somehow looked even more beautiful. They had great equipment to begin with so even if I wouldn’t have gotten any edited I still would have been exceptionally pleased. Would highly recommend them to anyone needing a photographer in that area!

  • Angel Gibbs February 2, 2016, 9:20 pm

    My husband and I were married at ERC in April 2014. Although some photography was included in our wedding package, we opted to hire outside photographers (and we are SO glad we did!). I am definitely one of those people who reads every last review before making a decision and I am extremely particular. Derek and Lorena did not disappoint!! They took SUCH good care of us on our wedding day. They actually met us at our hotel a few days prior to the wedding. My husband and I instantly felt comfortable with them! They were very open to my ideas and were more than willing to accommodate. Lorena was a life saver the day of my wedding. When my hair started falling on the beach from the wind, she was right there with bobby pins and hairspray. When my wedding coordinator walked off with my lipstick, she was there with a back up. When I started getting shiny from sweat, she was there with shine wipes. This of course is in addition to shooting thousands of amazing pictures! Her and Derek have slightly different styles (although both equally fantastic) so it gave us a great variety. We received 3 usb’s at the end of the night and we received our edited pictures very soon after making our picks. Even through the editing process they were amazing. They already had my money so they didn’t have to go out of their way but even then they did. And now… Almost a year later I realized i hadn’t downloaded one of the edited pictures I really wanted. I emailed them and received it in less than 48 hours. WOW!

    These two are an awesome pair and they are so much fun! They are also very reasonably priced. I do not hesitate to recommend these two to anyone. I can’t tell you how many people have told me my wedding photos belong in a magazine! Thanks again Derek and Lorena for making our day perfect!

  • Tanya February 16, 2016, 6:01 pm

    I got married at Azul Fives on Dec 17, 2015.

    After a lot of research, we decided to hire Derek and Lorena to photograph our wedding because of the quality of their work. However, while working with them throughout the planning process and the big day, we realized how fortunate we were to work with them because of so much more than just the quality of their work.

    Throughout the planning process, Derek and Lorena were incredibly helpful and always very responsive (even though i didn’t stop bothering them with question!). They really took the time to get to know us too, to read through our wedding website and planning documents. Derek also offered to meet with us while he was vacationing in Toronto, so we feel comfortable when we meet with him and Lorena in Mexico!

    During the big day – they were so easy to work with!!!! They were always there, yet we didn’t even feel them! Our photo timelines have shifted (and shortened) because of rain, and they seamlessly made MIRACLES happen by ensuring that we were able to get all the photos we wanted. Their calmness throughout the day was contagious.
    And, between all the hecticness of the big day, they continued to go above and beyond for us… Gosh, Lorena even helped me with quick make up and hair touchups before reception!

    They are so friendly, they really know what they are are doing and they really care. They are true professionals.

    And, of course, the quality of the photos. We love our photos beyond what words can describe. Derek and Lorena provided us with all the photos shortly after the reception (we met for a TTD session 2 days after). and we cannot stop staring at the 2000+ incredible photos that they made. Choosing only 250 photos for editing truly seems an impossible task at this point!

    This was the most important day of my life, and I couldn’t have been any happier with choosing Derek and Lorena to help me remember all the details from this day. They are beyond an amazing team, and we couldn’t have been more grateful to them. I cannot recommend them enough, DON’T HESITATE to make them a part of your big day!!!!!!!

  • Alex Nunez March 14, 2016, 10:31 pm

    Derek and Lorena were so great to work with! I contacted them when I decided to do a surprise engagement on the beach in Cancun. They were very easy to keep in contact with and made sure we had everything planned out before we left the states.

    They did a great job changing plans when things went south. My original plans were messed up by constant rain the entire day of the surprised engagement, Lorena and Derek were quick with the suggestion of doing a sunrise engagement the following day and it couldn’t have worked out more perfect.

    The pictures came out amazingly and we are so glad we chose Lorena and Derek for them. Now our friends and family can be apart of our special moment.

    They are a great team and would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for engagement pictures, or any other kind of pictures for that matter.

  • Judith Bravo April 18, 2016, 1:16 pm

    We were in Cancun on March 21-28, 2016. We went to Cancun as a family to celebrate my husband and my 40th birthday. I contacted Lorena and Dereck the minute I scheduled my vacation. They were always very professional and replied in a timely manner. Lorena gave me attire suggestion for our photo shoot. Once in Cancun I was contacted by them and felt at ease every step of the way. During the photo shoot they were both very professional and patient with my three boys. I never felt rushed during the photo session, and they made my boys feel very comfortable, because of their patience. Our photos turned out great and we were very pleased with all 300 pictures. I would highly recommend to those looking into taking pictures with young kids or for any event.

  • Stephany Primus April 27, 2016, 6:31 pm

    We got married in August at Now Sapphire in Mexico. Pictures were a huge priority for our wedding. Our wedding package included a photographer, but we were concerned that a resort photographer for an hour wouldn’t be enough. It was stressful trying to plan a wedding from across the country, but once we found Derek and Lorena, we were instantly at ease. We were first intrigued when we saw photos that were taken at a wedding at the same resort, they were amazing! Once we started planning, everything was very clear and Derek and Lorena stayed in contact with us the entire time. They answered every question I had (and I had plenty!) and made sure to verify every plan I had for our big day. It was great to have 2 photographers to capture all the getting ready moments, and the ceremony from both perspectives without making it feel staged or intrusive. Lorena even showed up wearing our wedding colors! When we fell behind schedule, they were very understanding and helped us focus on what pictures were most important. They were so attentive to us, and worked so hard to be sure the special pictures, moment and details we wanted were captured. They even stayed late and worked with our resort photographer to capture our cake cutting and first dance. We loved that we were able to get the pictures the same day, and spent several nights on our honeymoon looking at the pictures and reminiscing about our perfect day. We are so happy we found photos in Cancun to help us capture our special day, and that we have so many wonderful pictures to share!

  • Meagan May 9, 2016, 1:26 pm

    We had our wedding in Nov 2015 and decided to contact Derek and Lorena to see if they were available for our wedding date. Thank goodness they were! Both were very prompt getting back to e-mail questions and they both really “got” our vision for the wedding. The prices were by far the best that I could find. On the wedding day they were very organized (thank goodness as I was in a surreal cloud state). They were also above and beyond generous- following the wedding they came back to our resort to pick us up and take us into town to do more pictures of my husband and I since they felt they didn’t get enough of just the two of us- and they did this at no extra charge and refused to take any money at the any of that day. The photos turned out beautifully and the edits also came back very quickly. I couldn’t be happier with our choice to hire them and would highly suggest them as a photographer! Both are very easy going and make you feel so comfortable and beautiful.

  • Christina Wilson June 10, 2016, 4:54 pm

    My fiance and I decided to elope in Cancun since we were already going to go on vacation. 2 months prior – I sent allllll sorts of emails to every vendor I could find and Derek and Lorena were the quickest to respond to my initial email and all emails thereafter as well.

    Where do I even begin describing how amazing these 2 are! Our ceremony was at 9am, super humid,super hot, super uncomfortable for all parties involved. They were able to capture a lot of great photos during the ceremony, but the sun was so bright our eyes squinty in all the pics. They offered to do a sunset in addition to the ceremony, no extra fee – because they wanted to be sure we were 100% satisfied! They picked us up that evening at our resort and drove to a little public area of the beach not too far, did the sunset shoot, and once completed, they took us for a drink at a local bar! We got our photos on a flash drive that same night and the quality of the photos were just amazing. And that’s before editing/retouching.

    Booking them was the one thing I felt most secure about and I’m so glad I did. Everyone just loves our photos and they have very very very fair prices. If you are thinking about booking them, then you really should. You won’t regret it at all. Feel free to email me w/ any questions or if you want to see some other photos. My email is christina.pappan@gmail.com

  • Vanessa June 19, 2016, 8:41 am

    For those who haven’t selected your photographer yet, I wanted to share my incredible experience with Photos In Cancun. I am hoping that it will help some of you make this important decision!

    After a lot of research, we decided to hire Derek and Lorena to photograph our wedding because of the quality of their work. However, while working with them throughout the planning process and the big day, we realized how fortunate we were to work with them because of so much more than just the quality of their work.

    Throughout the planning process, Derek and Lorena were incredibly helpful and always very responsive. They really took the time to get to know us too. They helped me plan the entire timeline of the big day, and got the pictures on my must have list. And, between all the hecticness of the big day, they continued to go above and beyond for us…Lorena even helped me put on my eyelashes! They are so friendly, they really know what they are are doing and they really care. They are true professionals.

    And, of course, the quality of the photos. We love our photos beyond what words can describe. Derek and Lorena provided us with all the photos shortly after the reception… which is one of the reasons we choose them! So great to go home with all your photos- almost 1500 OF THEM! I just got my 100+ edited photos and I am so excited! They even rushed them so I could have them at my AHR this weekend!

    This was the most important day of my life, and I couldn’t have been any happier with choosing Derek and Lorena to help me remember all the details from this day. They are beyond an amazing team, and we couldn’t have been more grateful to them. I cannot recommend them enough, DON’T HESITATE to make them a part of your big day!!!!!!!

    Finest Playa Mujeres
    May 25, 2016
    4 hrs of photography

  • Antony + Danielle July 2, 2016, 6:43 pm

    Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for taking us both on such an unforgettable and amazing experience. Traveling from Sydney Australia for a beautiful tropical holiday, sight seeing and relaxing by the turquoise water was a delight but the highlight of our trip was defiantly the sunrise photoshoot we had with Derek and Lorena. They have such beautiful souls, and so much fun to work with.
    They communicated via email in preparation of this shoot from Sydney and made us feel at ease with the whole process. My now fiancé and I had no experience in how to pose in front the camera and did feel a little nervous but the professionalism of Derek and Lorena’s behalf gave us the confidence and made it quite easy and natural to take such beautiful shots. We are so beyond happy by the creative and beautiful work of “PhotosinCancun” and cant wait to showcase them at our engagement party very soon. I highly recommend to complete your vacation with a photoshoot. Thankyou for all your time and efforts. All the best and maybe we will see you again on our next vacation. 🙂 xx

  • Camilla February 6, 2017, 11:08 pm

    We had a fantastic time with Derek and Lorena, such a lovely couple. It was our first trip to Cancun, so we wanted to shoot some awesome photos to keep, and we were more than satisfied. Both of them were very experienced and the photos were very natural, yet still stunning. We got a total of 300+ raw photos and they copied all of them onto a USB for us, in less than 30 minutes?? And then after, we were supposed to pick 30 photos we really liked for enhancement, but they were all so nice so we ended up having 33, and Derek did them all for me. Very very memorable and worthy experience. 😀

  • Parlin February 16, 2017, 8:48 pm

    Lorena and Derek are just absolutely wonderful to work with….this was our second time doing a photo shoot with Photos in Cancun and they were so patient with the 15 of us (60th birthday shoot with the entire gang). Highly recommend for anyone visiting Cancun!

Leave a Comment